How I overcame overactive bladder

A few years ago, I was really struggling with overactive bladder (OAB). Overactive bladder syndrome is common. Symptoms include an urgent feeling to go to the toilet, going to the toilet frequently and sometimes leaking urine before you can get to the toilet (urge incontinence).

I had to go to the bathroom at least 20-30 times a day, sometimes more than 50, and it became a huge social problem for me also. I remember in 2013, when my mom and I travelled to Gran Canaria, we went for a walk to a shopping mall. I had been to the bathroom 5 minutes before. Then we actually had to stop in the middle of the street for me to pee in between two cars. I have never been so embarassed in my life. I want to tell my story and share some helpful tips if you are struggling with this as well.

Ever since I was a child, I have had this problem. I have also had urinary retention, and had problems emptying the bladder. This was discovered on an ultra sound, when I had 300 ml of urine left in my bladder after I had just been to the bathroom.

I have spent some years bladder training, and I can now say that I am cured of overactive bladder. After my weight loss surgery, I have also noticed a great improvement, so if you are suffering from OAB, try to lose weight if you are overweight.

Schedule times to go to the bathroom, at first every two hours. Then try every three hours. Try everything to keep this schedule. Emptying the bladder everytime you feel the urge, and also pressure out the urine, is the absolute worst you can do. This will make your bladder overactive.

Be hydrated, but not over hydrated. Also do not stop drinking to keep from going to the bathroom, as this will cause irritation and will make you go even more.

I have experienced that too much smoking and alcohol drinking is making the problem worse, so try to quit if you can. Also too much caffeine is a negative thing, as it functions as a diuretic. A couple of cups a day, that is all you need.

Pumpkin seeds is very effective in treating overactive bladder. Take a spoon every day, it has really helped me.

pumpkin

Kegel exercises: Kegel exercises strengthen the pelvic floor muscles, which support the uterus, bladder, small intestine and rectum. You can do Kegel exercises, also known as pelvic floor muscle training, just about anytime.

I have tried three different meds for OAB, which I am no longer on after all the lifestyle changes I have made. But if you are suffering, maybe you need to talk to your doctor and try out medication.

I also do not need botox anymore, but I have tried it twice. This can be a good help to those who are suffering. As a last resort, there are surgeries to enlarge the bladder. But as a former sufferer myself, I will say try everything else before you do this.

Make sure you get tested for hormone levels, as a low estrogen level can cause symptoms of OAB. I have been on estrogen myself, but I no longer need it.

I will make another post about urinary retention, which I have also struggled with in the past.

Remember that there is always hope, no matter how hopeless the situation looks right now. I am free from OAB, and I thank God for it every day, and you can be free too, but there is a lot of work to do.

I also suffered from urge incontinence, and that has gotten a lot better after I trained my bladder and lost weight. I have also tried out this medication which has a lot of pumpkin seeds and cranberries in it. Maybe it can help you as well.

010

Author: Elizablog

Artist and painter

Leave a Reply

